Located on the campus of the Maryland School for the Deaf, the Bjorlee Museum is one of Frederick's newest exhibits. The school opened its doors with 34 students in Sept of 1868 and was housed in two Revolutionary War era stone barracks. The remaining Hessian Barracks is adjacent to the museum. The collection began in 1872 houses school related artifacts, as well as many items of local interest reflecting aspects of Frederick City's long history. Open daily 8:30am-3:30pm. Appointments suggested.
Locations(s)101 Clarke Place | Frederick, MD 21701
Local: (240) 575-2959
Fax: (301) 360-2044
May We Recommend...
- Learn the story of a town built by the B&O Railroad and recall the lives of railroaders and their families at the Brunswick Heritage Museum
- Take a guided tour through 300 years of Frederick history and stroll through the beautiful gardens at the Museum of Frederick County History
- Visit the expansive Monocacy Aqueduct and view the largest structure on the C&O Canal
- Pay homage to the nation's fallen firefighters and view the 40-foot tall bronze monument honoring the flag raising at Ground Zero at the National Fallen Firefighters Memorial Park
- Explore one of America's finest examples of German colonal architecture at the Schifferstadt Architectural Museum